Coco Gauff’s dad praises her ‘fighting for fairness’ after umpire argument

Coco Gauff’s father is applauding his daughter for standing up for herself.

Gauff had a prolonged argument with the chair umpire at the Dubai Tennis Championships on Wednesday after the umpire made what she believed to be a late call.

Writing in a post on Instagram, Gauff’s father, Corey, offered effusive praise to his daughter for how she handled the situation.

Coco Gauff of the United States challenges the umpire while playing Karolina Pliskova of Czech Republic in their third-round women’s singles match during day 4 of the Dubai Duty Free Tennis Championships. Getty Images

“So proud of my daughter. Standing up for yourself and fighting for fairness,” the elder Gauff wrote.

“You have the strength of your grandmothers who are 2 of the strongest women we know. While being passionate you remained respectful as you articulated your argument. The scene is so familiar to women and women of color pleading and fighting to be treated fairly and respectfully by their male counterparts.

“Your are an incredible example to women and your generation on what it means to fight and despite not getting the outcome you wanted you stood up for yourself and successfully moved on. You are becoming the young woman I prayed for God Bless you.”

Coco Gauff of the United States talks to father Corey Getty Images

Coco appreciated the words from her father.

“[A]w thank you dad I love you so much! thanks for being the best father. I would have never become the person i am without you,” she wrote in a comment in response on Instagram.

Gauff, the 2023 US Open champion, was facing Karolina Pliskova in the tournament’s round of 16 when the incident happened.

During a point in the second set, Gauff hit a serve that was called out by umpire Pierre Bacchi.

After challenging the call, Gauff expected to be awarded the point because Pliskova had missed the return but Bacchi instead ruled for the point to be replayed.

“You called it out way after she hit it,” Gauff told the umpire. “Yes, you did.”

Coco Gauff of the United States in action against Karolina Pliskova. Getty Images

“I called it right away,” Bacchi countered. “As I remember, I called it right away.”

“You did not. The call was a late call,” Gauff responded.

“Not for me,” the umpire disagreed.

After some more back-and-forth, Gauff ultimately ended up replaying the point and winning the match 2-6, 6-4, 6-3.

Leave a Comment